

1986 Queensland Cabinet Minutes

Queensland State Archives

List of Cabinet Members 1986

Portfolio	Name	Party
Premier & Treasurer	Hon Sir Johannes Bjelke-Petersen	National
Deputy Premier and Minister Assisting the Treasurer (until 6 Feb) Deputy Premier and Minister Assisting the Treasurer and Police (from 6 Feb)	Hon William (Bill) Gunn	National
Local Government, Main Roads and Racing	Hon Russell Hinze	National
Public Works and Housing (until October 1986) Leader of the House (from 1979 until November 1986)	Hon Claude Wharton CMG	National
Mines and Energy (until 1 Dec) Works and Housing (from 1 Dec)	Hon Ivan Gibbs	National
Industry, Small Business and Technology (until 1 Dec) Health and Environment (from 1 Dec)	Hon Michael (Mike) Ahern AO	National
Transport	Hon Donald (Don) Lane	National
Lands, Forestry, Survey and Mapping	Hon William (Bill) Glasson	National



Health (until 6 Feb)	Hon Brian Austin	National
Health and Environment (until 1 Dec)		
Mines, Energy and the Arts (from 1 Dec)		
Education	Hon Lionel (Lin) Powell	National
Primary Industries (until 30 Nov)	Hon Neil Turner	National
Employment and Industrial Affairs	Hon Vincent (Vince) Lester	National
Environment, Valuation and Administrative Services (until 6 Feb)	Hon Martin Tenni	National
Water Resources and Maritime Services (from 6 Feb)		
Northern Development & Community Services (portfolio renamed from Aboriginal and Island Affairs)	Hon Robert (Bob) Katter	National
Welfare and Ethnic Affairs (until 6 Feb)	Hon Geoffrey Muntz	National
Corrective Services, Administrative Services and Valuation (from 6 Feb to 1 Dec)		
Tourism, National Parks and Sport (from 1 Dec)		
Tourism, National Parks and Sport (from 6 Feb to 1 Dec))	Hon Peter McKechnie	National
Industrial and Technology (From 1 Dec)		
Welfare Services, Youth and Ethnic Affairs (from 6 Feb)	Hon Yvonne Chapman (Qld's first female Cabinet Minister)	National
Family Services, Youth and Ethnic Affairs (from 1 Dec)		
Justice and Attorney-General Primary Industries (from 1 Dec)	Hon Neville Harper	National
<u> </u>	I .	

Notes: Election held on 1 November 1986